Opinionated Comparisons

… compare and contrast

Cats versus Dogs

Posted by MAaP on June 5, 2008

Now this is a battle between pet lovers — specifically between the dog lovers and the cat lovers. Both the cat and the dog make cute pets, but each has its unique behavior that puts it above the other. Each also has some traits that make the other look better. It would all boil down to what the owner would prefer to live with.

Cat and Dog

Now I could enumerate what I found all over the net on what’s hot and what’s not in having a cat or a dog. But I think I’ll give credit to the bloggers and posters who took pains in defending their canine or feline friend.

The Feline Purrrrrssss….

Cats PaintingCats or Dogs: Which Are the Better Pets?

I Hate Dogs.. And Their Owners Too.

“Thousands of years ago, cats were worshipped as gods. Cats have never forgotten this.” – Anonymous

“Cats are smarter than dogs. You can’t get eight cats to pull a sled through snow.” – Jeff Valdez

“In a cat’s eye, all things belong to cats.” – English proverb

“As every cat owner knows, nobody owns a cat.” – Ellen Perry Berkeley

“One cat just leads to another.” – Ernest Hemingway

“Cats are rather delicate creatures and they are subject to a good many ailments, but I never heard of one who suffered from insomnia.” – Joseph Wood Krutch

“People that hate cats, will come back as mice in their next life.” – Faith Resnick

“There are many intelligent species in the universe. They are all owned by cats.” – Anonymous

“I have studied many philosophers and many cats. The wisdom of cats is infinitely superior.” – Hippolyte Taine

“There are two means of refuge from the miseries of life: music and cats.” – Albert Schweitzer

“The cat has too much spirit to have no heart.” – Ernest Menaul

“Time spent with cats is never wasted.” – Colette

“Some people say that cats are sneaky, evil, and cruel. True, and they have many other fine qualities as well.” – Missy Dizick

“You will always be lucky if you know how to make friends with strange cats.” – Colonial American proverb

“Cats seem to go on the principle that it never does any harm to ask for what you want.” – Joseph Wood Krutch

“Cats aren’t clean, they’re just covered with cat spit.” – John S. Nichols

“Do not meddle in the affairs of cats, for they are subtle and will pee on your computer.” – Bruce Graham

Man’s Best Friend

Puppies Painting

Ubersite: Dog’s vs Cats

Funny.net: Dogs vs Cats

Things I Learned From My Dog

“You can say any foolish thing to a dog, and the dog will give you this look that says, “My God, you’re right! I never would’ve thought of that!” – Dave Barry

“There is no psychiatrist in the world like a puppy licking your face.” – Ben Williams

“The great pleasure of a dog is that you may make a fool of yourself with him and not only will he not scold you, but he will make a fool of himself too.” – Samuel Butler

“Man is a dog’s idea of what God should be.” – Holbrook Jackson

“The dog is the only animal that has seen his god.” – Author Unknown

“Dogs’ lives are too short. Their only fault, really.” – Agnes Sligh Turnbull

“We long for an affection altogether ignorant of our faults. Heaven has accorded this to us in the uncritical canine attachment.” – George Eliot

“I think dogs are the most amazing creatures; they give unconditional love. For me they are the role model for being alive.” – Gilda Radner

“I think we are drawn to dogs because they are the uninhibited creatures we might be if we weren’t certain we knew better. They fight for honor at the first challenge, make love with no moral restraint, and they do not for all their marvelous instincts appear to know about death. Being such wonderfully uncomplicated beings, they need us to do their worrying.” – George Bird Evans

“Our dogs will love and admire the meanest of us, and feed our colossal vanity with their uncritical homage.” – Agnes Repplier

“One reason a dog can be such a comfort when you’re feeling blue is that he doesn’t try to find out why.” – Author Unknown

Scratch a dog and you’ll find a permanent job.” – Franklin P. Jones

“I talk to him when I’m lonesome like; and I’m sure he understands. When he looks at me so attentively, and gently licks my hands; then he rubs his nose on my tailored clothes, but I never say naught thereat. For the good Lord knows I can buy more clothes, but never a friend like that.” – W. Dayton Wedgefarth

“When a dog barks at the moon, then it is religion; but when he barks at strangers, it is patriotism!” – David Starr Jordan

Cats and Dogs Chess Pieces

The Verdict: Well, I’m biased. I like dogs more than I like cats. But I do recognize the intelligence of cats. But I prefer the company of dogs because they are more interactive than the cats. I mean if I’m going to have a pet, I might as well go with those who I can play with and cuddle with, right?

9 Responses to “Cats versus Dogs”

  1. I like both cats and dogs. While growing up we had both. But I wanted to comment on your dog. “Snow Dogs” is one of my favorite movies and your dog looks like one of the dogs in the movie. In fact I have a stuffed animal dog that looks just like yours sitting near my bed.

  2. shiftee said

    Oh no, that picture isn’t mine and it isn’t my dog. ^_^ Just got it from the internet and I fell for those eyes so I posted the picture here. I think this breed is the Siberian Husky, right? Or is it the Malamute..? I have a hard time telling the two apart.

    I haven’t seen the Snow Dogs. But I’ve seen Eight Below and it’s one of my fave movies. I grew fond of the huskies and malamutes because of that movie.

  3. Jace said

    That’s a cute picture. I was looking through google looking for images to write papers on for a class I have. Just wanted to tell you I think that pic is super cute!

  4. Jackie (cat lover) said

    I want that cat vs dog chess board. I personaly adore cats and almost hate dogs. They’re a nuesance. Always barking and sometimes at nothing. Cats are more jentle. Even though they scratch and jump on your bed and wake you up at 3 in the morning, they are NOT boring or a nuesance to me.
    Signed, CAT LOVER

  5. i said

    I love dogs and hate cats! (no offense to cat lovers) Dogs always know when your having a bad day and they will cheer you up. Cats cant tell your emotions. A dog will wait by the window for you when you get home, but a cat will just sleep. Dogs defend your home by barking when he/she hears or smells someone approaching. Cats again just sleep or simply dont care. So for all you dog lovers out there reading this, good for you that you like dogs. For all you cat lovers……. go see if your cat wants to play. I hope you get badly scratched. (Just joking)

  6. rick said

    so where did you find the dog and how much was it

  7. Brent said

    depends on your personality- If you are one that needs an obiedient pet- that wil always consider you his god- and you need to walk in a few times a day- then go for a dog….

    If you want a moody animaly that comes to you on his time- and when he/she does give affection- it is more rewarding than a dog when it happens- and you dont mind shoveling some smelly kitty litter- get a kitten…..

    both have thier plus and minus- I personally like cats better but dogs definatly have thier good points though

  8. both are good! my golden is so nice, when im having a bad day she just gives me this “i understand” look and licks my face. my dog and i jog, she is so kind and loves everyone, is so trained, and just loves everyone.

    my scary smart cat is great, too. no lie, ive taught her to use the toilet, and to flush. when i have a bad day she just knows the right place to cuddle on my lap, and sometimes leaves a dead mouse present on my bed with a “do you like it?” expression, which is gross but funny.

    both have their pluses and minuses-personally i like dogs better but cats are so unique u never know what theyre thinking, so smart! ill never find a cat like mine.

Leave a Reply

 
